Music Series

St. John’s Oratorio Chorus Spring Concert 2019

Sunday, May 12 at 3pm the St. John's Oratorio Chorus performs two stunning masterworks! Haydn - Nicolaimesse and Mozart - Coronation Mass in C (K.317) Rehearsal Dates (6:30-8:30 p.m.) -Sunday, March 24 -Sunday, March 31 -Sunday, April 7 -Sunday, April 14 -Thursday, April 25 -Sunday, April 28 -Thursday, May 2 -Sunday, May 5 -Thursday, May 9 (Rehearsal with Orchestra, 7:00-9:30 p.m.) If you have questions, please contact Director of Music Sam Grace.

2019-01-27T22:19:51+00:00January 27th, 2019|

Handel’s Messiah 2018

St. John's Oratorio Chorus and Orchestra perform Handel's Messiah this Saturday, December 8 (7:00 p.m.) and Sunday, December 9 (4:00 p.m.). Plan to attend this annual concert in its twenty-ninth year! Performances are open to all at no cost—a freewill offering will be taken to defray production expenses. Performance time is approximately 2.5 hours (including intermission) with a cookie reception to follow. Doors open one hour prior to each performance. Parking is available in the St. John’s lot and on the street surrounding    the church at 4842 Nicollet Avenue. Free childcare is available during Sunday’s performance.

2018-12-14T17:02:04+00:00July 11th, 2018|

September 30, 2018 — Bach and Rameau

MUSIC SERIES: Bach and Rameau St. John’s Music Series and our worship team is excited to present Bach and Rameau, a morning of baroque music with period-style instruments featuring Seulgee Lee Nelson on harpsichord, SungAe Song, traverso (baroque flute), and Julie Elhard, viola da gamba. The trio will present a preview of their recital during worship on September 30. A brief recital will follow fellowship hour“Bach” up in the sanctuary at 11:45. All ages welcome!

2019-01-27T22:14:22+00:00September 5th, 2018|

Schubert in Love

In May 2018 SCHUBERT in Love - Mass No. 1 in F Major, D. 105 was performed by St. John's Oratorio Chorus, professional orchestra and soloists. The performance was a great success. Thank you to everyone who planned,  performed, attended, served, and contributed.

2018-07-11T11:34:39+00:00March 1st, 2018|